…and the new ECCC goes to: Bucharest!

On 9 December 2020, representatives of the governments of the EU member states selected Bucharest, Romania, as the seat of the new European Cybersecurity Industrial, Technology and Research Competence Centre. Proposals for the selection of the seat included beside Bucharest: Luxembourg, Leon (Spain), Warsaw (Poland), Vilnius (Lithuania), Munich (Germany), and Brussels (Belgium).

Background: On 12 September 2018, the European Commission presented a proposal for a Regulation establishing the ECCC and the Network of National Coordination Centres in order to stimulate the European cybersecurity technological and industrial ecosytem to coordinate and pool relevant resources in the EU. Following three trilogues, the proposal was included in the Commission Work Programme 2021 (Annex III) as one of the priority pending proposals and the negotiations gained momentum. A fourth trilogue took place on 28 October 2020, while the fifth trilogue meeting between the co-legislators is scheduled for 11 December 2020.

For more information on the seat selection: https://www.consilium.europa.eu/en/policies/seat-selection-cybersecurity-centre/

The proposal: https://eur-lex.europa.eu/legal-content/EN/TXT/?qid=1537349553647&uri=CELEX:52018PC0630

For the legislative progress: https://www.europarl.europa.eu/legislative-train/theme-connected-digital-single-market/file-european-cybersecurity-competence-centers

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *